The Sunday Leader

Speaker Gets Nominees For Parliamentary Council

The Prime Minister and Opposition Leader have nominated the names of UPFA national list MP A.H.M. Azwer and UNP national list MP D.M. Swaminathan respectively to the Parliamentary Council.

Speaker Rajapaksa has told the media that he would send the names to President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

Once the President approves the names, the Parliamentary Council according to the 18th amendment could be formed. The formation of the council was delayed after Opposition Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe’s first nominee refused to accept the nomination.

2 Comments for “Speaker Gets Nominees For Parliamentary Council”

  1. Calistus Jayatilleke

    What if the second nominee too refuses to accept ? A 19th Amendment ?

  2. Ian D.S

    Even when they have to be impartial the despot family cannot be so. There nomination of Azwer a confirmed bootlicker and thief in the and a man totally without integrity is the nominee of the despots. What can you expect of a council with maggots like this.

Comments are closed

Photo Gallery

Log in | Designed by Gabfire themes, pub-1795470547300847, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0