Dialog Axiata To Sponsor Tri-Nation Rugby Tournament

  • Rugby Inaugural Serendib Cup in Colombo

Seneviratne (Centre) receives sponsorship from Chirantha de Soyza as Saverimutto looks on

Dialog Axiata on Thursday announced that the organization had come forward to sponsor the inaugural Serendib Cup, the first of what the Sri Lanka Rugby Football Union (SLRFU) hopes will be a long term event.
The inaugural Serendib Cup is an IRB sanctioned competition for emerging countries to be held in Sri Lanka between the hosts, Madagascar and Poland. The tournament will be played over three days at the Colombo Racecourse Ground between 26 October and 1 November.
“There is a cohesive 3 year plan in place to take this tournament to greater heights and hopefully one that will eventually host 18 teams, making it the second tier world cup of rugby as envisioned by the IRB, allowing for a much larger involvement from the developing nations in the game” said Alastair Saverimutto CEO SLRFU.
“Against this backdrop, it is always good to see strong sponsors come forward and Dialog’s credentials as a sponsor and their commitment to rugby is manifest in their involvement in the game so far in Sri Lanka” added Saverimutto.
Bernard Lapasset, IRB Chairman in a special message for the event said, “This tournament is great news for the growth of the game in Sri Lanka. It is important for such a region to host an event of this magnitude”.
Dialog Axiata PLC has been supporting the SLRFU for a while and are also currently the Official Sponsors of the National Team and also the Dialog Rugby League and Knockout tournaments. This sponsorship further strengthens the solidarity between Dialog and the SLRFU and promises a brighter future for Rugby in Sri Lanka.
The President of the SLRFU, Asanga Seneviratne believes that this tournament will be a significant landmark in Sri Lanka Rugby and is proud of the fact that Dialog has come on board to support the tournament in such a big way. Seneviratne believes that Dialog has changed the face of Sri Lanka Sports after sponsoring Cricket and Rugby in recent times and urged other companies to support sport in this manner in order to enhance further development.
Seneviratne stated that the Dialog Serendib International Cup will be the signature tournament in the World Rugby stage and with the inclusion of Poland and Madagascar would give a truly international feel to the tournament.
Head of Dialog TV Chirantha de Soyza congratulated the SLRFU for introducing a tournament of this magnitude to Sri Lanka and believes that this will help popularizing the sport in many ways. Being one of the premier sports sponsors in the country he believes that it is an honour and a privilege for Dialog to come on board as the ‘title sponsors’ of the tournament especially since the SLRFU and Dialog have the same vision which is to uplift the Sri Lanka Rugby to meet world standards.
Chirantha also thanked the SLRFU for the opportunity given to Dialog  to sponsor the tournament and also assured that Dialog will continue to support and help enhance rugby in Sri Lanka.
The tournament which will be played at the Racecourse Grounds will have many exciting events that will coincide with the tournament. CEO of the SLRFU Alastair Saverimutto assured that preparations for the tournament have been fairly smooth as the organizers plan to include 9000 seats around the ground with tickets to be purchased online through www.slrfu.com. The tournament will also feature a corporate village and Saverimutto said he hoped that the tournament will make a statement in terms of Sri Lanka Rugby.
The Polish Rugby Union and Madagascar Rugby Union have released the names of their respective national rugby squads for the first-ever IRB sanctioned 15′s rugby tournament set to take place from 26th, 29th October and 01st November at the Colombo Racecourse Ground, Sri Lanka.
The names released of the Polish squad are, Craig Bucharzewski, Adrian Chróściel, Bartosz, Paweł Dąbrowski, Karol Perzak, Piotr Zeszutek, Marek Płonka jr, Mateusz Bartoszek, Cyprian Majcher, Stanisław Niedźwiedzki, Rafał Janeczko, Dawid Banaszek, Dawid Lorentowicz, Marek Przychodzki, Rafał Szrejber, Robert Pawelec, Tomasz Rokicki, Szymon Sirocki, Tomasz Gasik, Sebastian Łuczak and Robert Kwiatkowski.
The Madagascar team is represented by Rantoniaina Hasina Rakotoarivelo, Christian Jean Felix Andrianjaka, Maroson Vonjiniaina Andriamananjara, Dimbiniaina Jean Willy Rabemananjara, Rodolphe Randriamanantena, Hajanirina Randrianambinina, Ratsimba Tolotra Ramaromiantso, Tahina Hery Zo Randrianarisoa, Maminandrasana Solomampionona, Tolotra Claudio Ravelonomenjanahary, Guy Rolland Randriamiarana, Nirina Jacky Bayard, Romuald Rafaralahy, José Rakoto Harison, Juliot Mahavy, Deraniaina Rakotozafy, Alain Rakotonirina, Serge Rajoelina, Benjaniaina Mandimby Rakotoarivelo, Soloniaina Herizo Rasoanaivo, Bernard Razafindranaivo, Tiana Nirina Ravelomanantsoa, Tolotra Mampionontsoa Rakotoson, Michael Raharijaona , Joseph Berthin Rafalimanana , Laurent Simon Ranaivoarivelo, Canitrot Philippe, Victor-lie Andriavelomanana and Marcel Joseph Rakotomalala

Comments are closed

Photo Gallery

Log in | Designed by Gabfire themes