The Sunday Leader

Seneviratne, New Chairman Of DRC

Former Secretary General, Nihal Seneviratne has been appointed as the new Chairman of the Dispute Resolution Council (DRC) of the Press Complaints Commission of Sri Lanka (PCCSL) following the resignation of Sam Wijesinha.

The appointment was made by the Board of Directors of the PCCSL this week. Wijesinha, who served as the Chairman of the DRC since the inception of the PCCSL in 2003, was appointed Chairman Emeritus by the Board of Directors.

Seneviratne is a retired civil servant and was the Secretary General of Parliament from 1981-1994 having succeeded Sam Wijesinha in the same post.
Having received his early education at Royal College, Colombo Seneviratne graduated with an LL.B degree in law from the University of Ceylon, Peradeniya.

Upon graduation, Seneviratne joined the Office of the House of Representatives (Parliament) and went on to become the Secretary General. He also served as Parliamentary Affairs Adviser to Prime Minister Ratnasiri Wickramanayake.
The DRC of the PCCSL is an autonomous body tasked with adjudicating on public complaints against the print media of Sri Lanka. It works on the basis of conciliation, mediation and arbitration and is constituted under the Arbitration Act No. 15 of 1995.

The PCCSL is a self-regulatory mechanism of the newspaper industry of Sri Lanka and has dealt with over 1400 complaints since its inception. The DRC sits on matters that are referred to it by PCCSL Secretariat and that require impartial inquiries.

It comprises 11 members, five from civil society, five from the media and a Chairman who has no direct or indirect links with the newspaper industry and is an Attorney-at-Law.

The current members of the DRC are: Nihal Senevirantne (Chairman), Dr. Devanesan Nesiah, Javid Yusuf, Dion Schoorman, Lucille Wijewardene, Gnana Moonesinghe, Pramod de Silva, Siri Ranasinghe, Vijitha Fernando, Daya Lankapura and V. Thevarajah.

The Board of Directors of the PCCSL comprise: Kumar Nadesan (Chairman), Sinha Ratnatunga (Deputy Chairman), Nimal Welgama, Manik de Silva, Siri Ranasinghe, Sundera Nihathamani  De Mel, N.M. Ameen, Seetha Ranjanee and T. Muzzamil.

The PCCSL Secretariat comprises: Sukumar Rockwood, CEO and Complaints Officer (English media), Kamal Liyanaarachchi, Complaints Officer (Sinhala media) and Ameen Hussein, Complaints Officer (Tamil media).

Comments are closed

Photo Gallery

Log in | Designed by Gabfire themes, pub-1795470547300847, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0