The Sunday Leader

SL Light Infantry Take Honours In Successful Games

  • Army Para Games

The Captain of the winning team receiving the trophy from the Chief Guest

Providing encouragement to the entire community of differently able War Heroes and others in society, the 18th ‘Sri Lanka Army Para Games – 2015’ drew to a close at Diyagama Mahinda Rajapakse Stadium, on Friday.

The Games, featured the participation of over 450 athletes who received further recognition and admiration on the final day when the Secretary of Defence, Karunasena Hettiarachchi graced the closing ceremony as the Chief Guest.

On arrival at the stadium ground, the Chief Guest was warmly welcomed by Lieutenant General Crishanthe de Silva, Commander of the Army, together with Major General Jagath Dias, Chairman Army Para Olympic Committee.

The Sri Lanka Light Infantry emerged as the overall winners of the Championship of the ‘Army Para Games – 2015’ with a grand total of 527 points  made up of 263 points in the games events and 264 in the athletic events.

The Gajaba Regiment secured the runners up position with a total of 480 points whilst the third place was won by Gemunu Watch with 353 points.  Minutes after the Chief Guest’s arrival, sky diving and band displays, presented by the Army soldiers set the stage for the finals, amid a colourful backdrop of the attractive flags and pennants of the participating teams and the Army Para Games flag in the backyard.

The Army Para Games, now an annual feature in the Army sports calendar, has emerged to be one of the much-awaited and promising events among sports lovers. This year’s meticulously organized event got off the ground on Wednesday (16) during a glittering opening ceremony, attended by the Commander of the Army as the Chief Guest.

Several representatives who had come from India, Pakistan, Indonesia, Malaysia and Nepal also participated in this mammoth event as observers, expressing their solidarity.

Mrs. Karunasena Hettiaarachchi, Mrs. Nayana De Silva, President, Army Seva Vanitha Unit, Major General S.W.L. Daulagala, Director General Infantry, Major General S.R. Manawaduge, Director General Sports, Major General Mahinda Hathurusinghe, Adjutant General, Major General R. Rathnasingham, Quarter Master General, Major General Ajith Wickramasinghe, Director General Supply and Transport, Colonel Commandants of all the Regiments, Representatives of the sponsors, several distinguished Guests and a large gathering of Army officers, other ranks and invitees attended the day’s closing ceremony.

Comments are closed

Photo Gallery

Log in | Designed by Gabfire themes